Cottages near Sleights North Yorkshire
Lovely cottage, very nice style and homely. we might suggest a few improvements for future stays, such as kitchen roll, more toilet rolls and liquid soap in the bathroom. The instructions were amazing and very comprehensive thank you. we were a little disappointed that there was not a microwave but we soon got over that one. the property was definitely not cleaned to a standard that we would have expected and the towels smelt fusty so we used our own that we brought for swimming and washed the guest towels provided. overall a lovely getaway and the area is amazing, we walked into whitby one day but drove other times as the roads are a bit dodgy!!!
thanks to you both and we would return in the future.
Sarah and Karla
Owner's Response: Hello Sarah and Karla, thank you for your feedback and I'm glad that overall you like the cottage and the area and that you appreciated the instructions and found them useful. We are visiting ourselves this weekend and looking forward to our visit too. The reason for the lack of microwave is that as you will appreciate there simply isn't room for one - as anyone looking at the photos on the page will see. I suppose it's personal preference, we don't use one ourselves at home and just couldn't see how to fit one in without compromising food preparation space. There are two loo rolls left for each set of guests and also a kitchen roll in the kitchen cupboard. perhaps you didn't find this so I apologise. We do provide lots of extras like washing up liquid, cloths and sponges, foil, clingfilm, sandwich bags, toiletries, cleaning materials, tea lights, firelighters, tissues etc and a box of useful items like sewing kit, aspirin, plasters etc as well as DVDs, games, books, additional pillows, an alternate weight of duvet etc and like to think that in comparison to a lot of cottages that we provide a lot of little extras that you don't find elsewhere - we once booked a very expensive cottage through the National Trust which had NO loo roll and nothing at all to assist with washing up, not even a tea towel! We do provide a liquid soap dispenser in the kitchen which no doubt you found and also a fresh wrapped tablet of soap for bathroom use. We did use have an arran aromatics soap dispenser bottle in the bathroom but unfortunately people kept taking them home with them - they regularly disappeared! I can't really comment on the towels as naturally i wasn't there to see/ smell except to say that we have never received a complaint about the towels before, they are replenished for each customer and are stored in an airing cupboard so not in a situation where they would be exposed to a fusty atmosphere. But I will certainly bring this to the cleaner's attention as I agree that this wouldn't be an ideal situation. I hope that you do return and I hope you don't see this response as in any way defensive. It's simply that these reviews are public and do I am sure impact on whether we receive bookings or not. Naturally as this is a business for us I wanted to take the opportunity to respond and present a different point of view. Very best wishes to you both and thanks again for your custom.